Master of the world…

Jules Verne illustration

~~~

You just can’t fight civilization, it’s all over the planet now

so I best take a bath or I’ll get no smile with my chow

damn it, it’s a hell of a situation to be in, I swear

taking a bath in a cereal bowl, gotta grin n’ not despair

~

Little monkey up the park tree offer his shaky hand

to ‘de big dog barking below so fierce & grand

peacock with feathers spread out like a masterpiece fan

strut around like he most colorful puke in theese land

~

You just can’t fight civilization, it’s too damn big a beast

so I pour water into the bowl halfway to ‘de brim at least

soap up, rinse, pour dirty water into shit bucket behind ‘de door

repeat this action a few mo’ times without spilling water on ‘de floor

~

Once two curious crows with hello squawks fly over my head

cactus wren jump outta hole up in cactus onto branch wish I was dead

lets me know too, balls me out and angrily flies around

I just stand there with a mug of whiskey & coke & don’t make a sound

~

Here in the city with rubbing alcohol I cut the soap grease

give me-self one more rub-down, put on clean clothes that got a crease

lock up the truck, go eat, waitress is friendly as can be

I’m just an old rubber tramp but she treats me quite royally

~

No, you can’t fight civilization, who wants to anyway?

Just roll with the punch & go eat lunch, that’s what I say

birds, rocks, trees, individuals everywhere have a role to play

The Spirit That Moves In All Things made it that o’ way…

~~~

from an out-of-print book

A Love Song To The American Lizard

by Rawclyde!

(Copyright Clyde Collins 1999)

~

art:

an old Jules Verne concoction

~~~

2 thoughts on “Master of the world…

Go ahead!

