Stepping forward…

2046Cimmaron-Titan

~~~

GUN 2013

Chapter 13

~~~

What perverse ideology leads a man to don a clown costume & give loaded derringers to children?  He’s over the edge.  He’s over.  Period.

The sad scene behind me on Cortez Street dictates courage, dictates that I investigate.  I slither out from behind the trash bin.  I straighten up.  I step forward.  The clown disappeared up the alley & I want to know exactly where.

Limping now, I step forward again & again.  I step across Gurley Street ~ named after a surveyor & officer in the U.S. Army who set out for but never made it to Prescott.  He was going to be the town’s first mayor if I remember my history correctly.

A motorist almost runs me down.  What else is new?  Another motorist slows, stops, condescendingly  wiggles her fingers at me to continue across the damn street.  I do as beckoned & back alley drift between the tall edifice of Saint Michael’s Hotel & a little Buddha gift store ~ both built of crumbling brick.  The clarity of the situation is hitting me now.  The shadows, though shrinking, are deep & mystical.  This reminds me of when I walked down Oak Creek Canyon along the highway under a full moon.  But I’m in Prescott & it’s almost noon.  And, as usual, there’s nothing to fear but God.  And He is known to loves us.

I think I am getting Gurley mixed up with Whipple when it comes to the historical personalities of Prescott.  Was Whipple’s first name Fort?  No, I don’t think so.  And it might very well be he was going to be not Prescott’s first mayor but Arizona’s first governor.  He never made it.  I best stop thinking about this.

And it’s getting hot around here.  Sweat is dripping down the side of my face.  My armpits are sopping wet ~ might be because I’m wearing a new vest.  I pull down the brim of my old hat.  My hair, I’m sure, is all over the place, like, I’m an over-the-hill hippie with a silver beard…

~ by Rawclyde!

~~~

copyright by Ken Loots


http://www.paintingsilove.com/image/show/156795/younger-willie-nelson

~~~

4 thoughts on “Stepping forward…

  1. Greetings! Exceptional piece of writing! I adore the way in which talked about Stepping forward | Old Timer Chronicle I.

    Many thanks for specific well-arranged guide concerning Stepping forward | Old Timer Chronicle I!
    And this I believed i was trying to find.
    Earlier I believed all around maintaining my own, personal website nevertheless i haven’t
    a period of time extending its love to write down forms for college outcome my very part-time workplace .

    Is really all of us have newspaper publishers along with essays from distinct providers.

    You happen to be concerned about the following, search
    for one or two review sites by this unique site
    pic-20 – Amos,. The webpage has also can decide on time-tested building solution

Go ahead!

